sugar cookie hearts

When I was a child, Valentine’s Day was always a big deal at my house.

It was a day of special delight and celebration.

My mom must have thought it was important to celebrate love.  And not just romantic love, but the love between a mother, a father and three daughters, love between sisters and love for extended family.

On Valentine’s eve, my mom always served a traditional dinner.  It included either ham or steak, corn flake potato casserole, cinnamon apples stuffed with pineapple cream cheese and  cut-out sugar cookie hearts for dessert.

She’d also set a fun table with red napkins, candy cups (cupcake liners filled a few of our favorite red candies and some conversation hearts) and a valentine box chalk full of many, many valentine cards.

Eventually, I grew up and had to leave home to attend college but even then she still found a way to bless me.  She’d make Valentine’s Day care packages.

A box would arrive in the mail that was filled with the cut-out cookies, red candies and conversation hearts and a super special card with a little monetary treat inside.  I looked forward to it every year!

I enjoyed the sugar cookie hearts most.  I think I liked them so much because the recipe calls for a unique ingredient, almond extract, which sets it apart from all others.

These cookies are super easy cookies to create and incredibly delicious.  They’ll melt in your mouth.

So, when I went to my mailbox yesterday (2/13) and found out I’d been sent a package, I knew what it was.  I could hardly wait to get home and open it.  And this time what made it even more special, was the fact that I got to share the tradition with Kyle, so neat!

Mom, thank you SO much!  You’re such an incredible mom, one whom I LOVE dearly.  Your love for us, for others and for Jesus is so inspiring.

I hope you get to celebrate love today.  I celebrate the love of my husband, my family, my friends and the love of God as seen in His Son, Jesus.  There’s so much to be grateful for!  I hope it’s a good day, filled with much love and delicious sweets.

Sugar Cookie Hearts

In order to create, you’ll need a rolling-pin and a heart-shaped cookie cutter.

1 c butter, softened
1 1/2 c sugar
1 egg
1 t vanilla extract
1/2 t almond extract
2 1/2 c all-purpose flour
1 t baking soda
1 t cream of tartar

1/2 c powdered sugar
3 T milk
1/2 t cream of tartar
drop of red food coloring

In a bowl, cream butter, sugar and egg until fluffy. Beat in vanilla and almond extract. Combine flour, baking soda and cream of tartar; add to creamed mixture and mix well.

Place dough on a lightly floured surface, roll the dough out (to about 1/4 inch thick).  Use heart shaped cookie cutter to cut hearts.  Place each heart onto a parchment lined baking sheet.  Bake at 375 for 9-10 minutes.

While cookies are cooling, combine powdered sugar, cream of tartar, milk and a red food coloring.  Mix together, then frost cookies.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “sugar cookie hearts

  1. Great story! I always love hearing about your family’s creativity! xoxo

  2. abbie

    Yummy. And sweet reminder of a sweet day. We need a date soon!

Leave a comment