honey roasted onion tart

It’s been a long time.

I’ve missed this blog, and I’ve missed you.

It’s been a crazy few months.

I’ve been in the throes of wedding planning for my June 26th wedding, I had to leave town for three weeks due to a family emergency and I just returned home, after being gone for another week, for the birth my first niece, Sophie Lynn Goodman (who I JUST adore!).

I’m back now and do hope to reclaim a normal rhythm of cooking, baking, enjoying and sharing!

I thought I’d begin again with a dish I actually created several weeks ago, a Honey Roasted Onion Tart.

I found the recipe while reading Bon Appetit.  

The picture alone made me want to try the recipe.  It looked amazing.  Then I read through the list of required ingredients — puff pastry, bacon, sweet yellow onions, honey and creme fraiche — and I knew it was a must try.

This dish makes a great appetizer, side dish or can even stand alone as the main dish,  if served with a hearty green salad.

Unfortunately I have no pictures to offer, which makes me so sad because you would’ve loved them, but we can’t find them. 

If you’d like to see what this tasty treat looks like, just visit the link to Bon Appetit’s website at the bottom of the recipe and they’ll have one for you there.

Honey Roasted Onion Tart

Recipe adapted from Bon Appetit, February 2011

1 sheet frozen puff pastry (half of 17.3-ounce package), thawed
3 bacon slices, cut crosswise into 1/2-inch pieces
1/4 cup honey
1/4 cup dry white wine
2 large sweet yellow onions (about 1 1/2 pounds), cut into 1/4-inch-thick rounds
3/4 cup crème fraîche
1/2 teaspoon fine sea salt
1/8 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg
1 teaspoon fresh thyme leaves (If you don’t have, you can omit)

Preheat oven to 375°F. Using lightly floured rolling pin, roll out puff pastry on lightly floured surface to 14×10-inch rectangle. Fold 1/2 inch of pastry edges in toward center on all sides, forming 13×9-inch rectangle. Transfer pastry to large rimmed baking sheet. Press firmly on pastry edges with fork to form rim. Chill crust.

Cook bacon in small skillet over medium heat until brown and crisp. Transfer to paper towels to drain. Reserve 1 tablespoon bacon drippings from skillet. Whisk honey, wine, and reserved bacon drippings in large bowl. Add onions; toss to coat. Coat another large rimmed baking sheet with nonstick spray. Spread onion mixture in even layer on sheet. Roast 45 minutes. Turn onions over, allowing rings to separate. Roast until onions are caramelized, turning often for even browning. Remove from oven; cool onions slightly.

Increase oven temperature to 400°F. Mix crème fraîche, sea salt, 1/4 teaspoon black pepper, and nutmeg in small bowl. Using spatula, spread crème fraîche over crust to folded edge. Arrange onions atop crème fraîche. Sprinkle with bacon. Bake tart until crust is light golden brown and topping is bubbling, 20 to 25 minutes. Sprinkle with thyme and serve.

http://www.bonappetit.com/recipes/2011/02/honey_roasted_onion_tart#ixzz1KYsIoovm

I should note, I’d never caramelized onions before.  It was super simple and they were incredibly delicious. 
 
I recommend using a mandolin to slice the onions, otherwise you may have lots of tears.  In the recipe above, I increased the cook time for caramelizing the onions to 45 minutes.  The original recipe advised 30 minutes, but my onions took longer to caramelize.
 
This is a fun one, so please don’t let any of the fancy named ingredients or the caramelizing process keep you from trying this recipe.  It’s worth it.  Enjoy!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “honey roasted onion tart

  1. Nice post. I was checking continuously this blog and I am impressed!
    Extremely useful info specifically the last part 🙂 I care for such info much.
    I was looking for this certain information for a very long time.
    Thank you and best of luck.

Leave a comment