dough and a little bit of courage

I live on a college campus.

I’m surrounded by college students.

Last spring I had the pleasure of spending some one-on-one time with one of those students, KC, a super fun young lady!

During one of our times together, she mentioned that she’d made homemade pizza the night before.  She said it was the dough that she made that was key.

Obviously, I was intrigued and wanted to know more.

Her claim is that this recipe is super simple and that it creates the most incredibly delicious dough.  Whenever friends eat her pizza, they can hardly believe that she was  the one who made the dough (because it’s that good).  “The best part though,”she says, “the pizza dough doubles as cinnamon roll dough.” Score!

I’m not going to lie, I got really excited just thinking about making my very own dough.  I knew I had to try it so I had her email me the recipe.

One Friday night when my husband was out-of-town, a friend and I spontaneously planned a get together.   We settled on dinner and a movie at my place.  I knew that I wanted to make a pizza with this homemade dough.

It turned out quite nice.  We really enjoyed the good good dough.  I think we almost finished all of it in one sitting!

I should note that there were a few things about this recipe that did intimidate me.

The recipe calls for active yeast.

The idea of working with yeast has always scared me a bit.  It always seemed way too difficult.  Thankfully fear didn’t stop me, and I actually discovered the opposite to be true, that working with yeast is actually real easy.  All I had to do was pour the yeast into a cup of warm water, let it dissolve and then combine with the dry ingredients.

The recipe also calls for the use of a bread hook attachment and a stand mixer.

I’d never used this attachment on my stand mixer before.  The idea of using it was also a little scary but I decided to face that fear as well.  I’m glad I did because using the bread hook was real easy too.  It did all the work for me!

Once the dough was made and left to sit, I was ready to go.

I rolled it out, placed it on the pizza stone, popped it in the oven for just a touch, took it out, covered it with lots of delicious toppings and then threw it back in until brown and bubbly.  As Italians say, that’s amore!

If any of my words resonate with you then let me spur you on to be honest, take courage and to create your very own batch of dough.  Enjoy!

KC’s Pizza Dough

1 c warm water
1 package active dry yeast (2 1/4 t)
1 T olive or vegetable oil
1 t salt
1 t sugar
2 1/2 c flour

Combine first three ingredients in bowl and set aside.  Combine last three ingredients in another bowl and set aside.  Place dough hook on stand mixer. Alternate placing wet and dry ingredients into stand mixer bowl.  Mix just until blended.  Let sit 5 minutes. (If you don’t have a stand mixer, just mix ingredients in bowl with spoon until mixed.)

Cover a flat surface with flour.  Place dough on surface and roll into a circle. Place dough on greased pizza stone.  Bake at 400 for 7 minutes.  Remove from oven, top with choice toppings, return to oven and bake another 10-15 minutes.  Let cool for 5 minutes before serving.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “dough and a little bit of courage

  1. Kris10

    Looks great!! Wish I could replicate here, but alas…no stand mixer. Suppose I’ll have to wait until I get home to make this. Ironic, isn’t it? 😉 ❤

    • Ha Ha, yes very ironic since you are in THE capital of pizza, Italy! You can still do it with a spoon and a bowl but why, when you can wait to use your beloved stand mixer! xo

Leave a Reply

