pb & j muffins

If you read my blog last week then you’ll know it’s about my favorite jam, strawberry rhubarb.

Shortly after making the jam, a friend of mine happened to share a delicious recipe with me for peanut butter and jelly mini muffins, in which I could use the jam, score!

I’m going to assume that just about everybody at one time or another has tasted a peanut butter and jelly sandwich.  I mean for most of us it was the staple of elementary school lunches.

I always enjoyed my pb & j with a generous spread of crunchy peanut butter, a thin layer of strawberry jam and cheap squishy white bread.  Sometimes I’d place a few Doritos in the middle of the sandwich for the crunch factor.  I liked to pretend that the crunch the chips gave was actually a cold, crisp piece of lettuce, which made me feel more sophisticated when eating such a childish thing.

I couldn’t wait for the opportunity to turn this old-time favorite into a muffin.

I should note that Nicole, the amazing woman who gave me the recipe, rarely makes things twice and she’d already made these muffins twice.

I decided to make them on a Saturday night.

I’d invited a few ladies from church over to play games and wanted to offer them a tasty treat.  I knew I had the recipe, a jar of peanut butter and some strawberry rhubarb jam, so I made the muffins.

I made them three different ways, some with blackberry, apricot and strawberry rhubarb jam.  I also used crunchy peanut butter rather than creamy.

They were delicious!   The ladies went back for seconds and even thirds.  They really do taste like a pb & j plus they’re cute and adorable because they’re mini!

This super simple recipe will provide you with a very fun adventure, as well as a unique creation.

I do hope you get to create a batch, so that you too can experience the pleasure of popping one of these little guys into your very own mouth.

Enjoy!

PB & J Muffins

2 c flour
1/2 c sugar
1/4 t salt
1/2 c peanut butter
1 egg
2 T butter, melted
1 T baking powder
1 c milk
2/3 c jam

In mixing bowl, stir flour, sugar, salt and baking powder together.  In separate large mixing bowl, whisk milk, peanut butter, egg and butter.  Add dry ingredients and stir just until combined (don’t over stir).

Spray muffin tin with cooking spray or fill cups with paper liners.  Fill each cup 1/3 full with batter, place 1 t jam on top and cover with batter until cup is 2/3 full.  Repeat process with each cup until tin is full.

Bake at 350 for 17- 20 minutes.  Makes 24 mini muffins.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “pb & j muffins

  1. Nicole

    hahahahaha, LOVE 🙂

Leave a Reply

