chile relleno casserole

Mild green chiles are the main ingredient in one of my most favorite side dishes.

Layer them between handfuls of shredded cheddar and jack cheeses, mix in a few eggs and add some sour cream and you’ve got yourself one pretty delicious and easy dish!

This past weekend, my sisters and my brother-in-law were in town.  Saturday night was our night to hang at home, along with my boyfriend and my roommate, and I wanted to make something special for dinner for us all to enjoy.

This night, we savored fresh-grilled carne asada tacos on corn tortillas with slices of fresh avocado, tomato and a squeeze of lime, spicy black beans and chile relleno casserole.

Chile relleno casserole is an old family favorite.  I believe my grandma Cynie introduced this recipe to my mom.  Ever since I can remember, my mom would always serve this dish alongside marinated, grilled flank steak.  It was so satisfying that often times I would go back for seconds and sometimes even thirds.

Despite the mention of the word chile in its name, this casserole really is a mild dish that is full of flavor.  It’s simple and easy to make.  You may want to try it at your next Mexican fiesta or serve it with a really choice steak.  I promise you won’t be disappointed.

My apologies, I do wish I had a good picture of the finished product to share but there wasn’t even one to be had. Before Elizabeth had a moment to snap the perfect shot, our chile relleno casserole was all gone.

Chile Relleno Casserole

8 – 12 oz mild green chiles
6 oz Monterrey jack cheese, shredded
6 oz cheddar cheese, shredded
2 eggs
½ c sour cream
salt and pepper to taste

Slit chiles lengthwise on one side, drain and remove seeds. Grease a 8 by 8 square casserole dish. Place a layer of chiles on the bottom of the dish, top with each type of cheese, then add another layer of chiles and add more cheese. (If there’s still more chiles and cheese, then add one more layer). Beat the eggs and sour cream together, add a dash of salt and pepper to taste and pour over the top of the casserole. Bake at 350 for 35 – 40 minutes.


3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “chile relleno casserole

  1. that sounds soooo good. the agony of not living with you anymore!?

  2. lin barber

    This sounds yummy. I’m thinking I might put a layer of tortillas in there sort of like a lasagna, or at least 1 layer on the bottom of the casserole first.

Leave a Reply

