just do it, a trip to the farmer’s market

photo 2 (4)

Saturday morning I made a trip to my local farmer’s market and came home with some amazing fruits and veggies.

I must say, I’m super proud of myself.

I think it’s been on my bucket list of things to do for the past three years (I guess there’s room to take the pride down just a bit then).

What’s amazing to me is how we (and by we, I mean I) have these things that we really want to do, yet we (again, I) can come up with so many excuses that keep us from doing them, even something as simple as a trip to the farmer’s market.

It’s too expensive, too far away (7 miles, a 10 minute drive, can feel like an eternity  sometimes), I’ll have to leave my house too early on a Saturday morning to make the market (ahem, 10am too early?), I’ll be overwhelmed by all of the choices, then I won’t know what to pick and I won’t end up getting anything or I’ll get something I hate.

Those were really some of the excuses that held me back.

What was even more amazing though, was how good I felt after I’d gone and done this thing I’d really wanted to do. I pushed past all excuses, went for it and was totally blessed.  I felt great about it all day!

It was super fun walking the aisles (ok, they had one aisle, a very small market) and having some cash on hand to spend. On the way home, I dreamt of all the things I’d create with my purchases!

On Monday I made a delicious ‘welcome home’ meal for my hubby which included: teriyaki marinated beef shish-k-bobs with skewered onions, bell peppers and tomatoes served alongside fluffy white rice and vanilla ice cream with fresh strawberrries and peaches for dessert.

photo 1 (7)

I used the rest of the strawberries to whip up another batch of my grandma Cynie’s homemade strawberry rhubarb jam.   And the remaining peaches, adorned thick slices of french toast that were dusted with powdered sugar, drizzled with maple syrup and served with a side of crisp bacon.

photo 3 (5)

The last bit of cherry tomatoes will be used to create a most excellent pico de gallo that will accompany large plates of grilled chicken and black bean nachos for my husband and I to enjoy.

Even as I write, my mouth waters.

What a gift food is, and what a gift it is to have fresh, good food so easily accessible.  I hope I never, ever take this for granted, seriously.

Thank you for all of your good gifts Lord!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

