sour cream scones

Scones.

I love them.

They’re a delicious sweet morning treat. I enjoy pairing a scone with a hot cup of coffee or a latte.  Starbucks sells a mean cranberry orange scone, and when I go there and decide to really treat myself, that’s usually what I’ll get.

What’s interesting though, is that I rarely do indulge.  It’s as if I unconsciously adhere to a certain set of scone eating rules. Rules such as: you can only eat a scone if you’re at a tea or you’re only allowed to have one if you deserve a VERY special treat.  It makes me sad because scones are such a delight and they ought to be consumed at anytime or anyplace.

It was a good thing then that I had a reason to bake me a batch of scones.

Two weeks ago, I made a light morning snack for participants at our Making Space Retreat.  Elizabeth, my ministry partner,  and I host these one day silent retreats at our house every other month.  They provide a space for individuals to connect with both God and self in a peaceful environment.

One of our core values is to provide good food at these retreats.  We believe that God can use it to really minister His love and care to a person’s soul.  We don’t want to skimp in this area, and that’s why we choose to have a fresh-baked goody waiting upon arrival.

I found this particular scone recipe in a Cooking Light magazine several years ago and enjoyed it.  It’s super simple, and because it comes from Cooking Light, it’s more on the healthy side (I usually prefer the full fat, full flavor version, but if it’s light you want then this is a good one).

Sour Cream Scones

The recipe below is my adaptation from Cooking Light, March 2006, the original recipe is at the link above.

1 1/2 c plus 2/3 c all-purpose white flour
1/3 c packed brown sugar
2 T granulated sugar
2 t baking powder
1/2 t baking soda
1/4 t salt
2/3 cup light sour cream (or use the regular if prefer)
3 T butter, melted and cooled
1 large egg white
1/3 c dried currants or raisins

1 T butter, melted
1 T granulated sugar
1/4 t cinnamon

Heat oven to 400. Combine flour and next five ingredients in a bowl and whisk. Combine sour cream, butter and egg in a bowl. Add to the flour mixture and stir just until moist. Stir in currants. Turn dough out onto lightly floured surface, knead lightly 6-12 times with floured hands. Divide dough in half. Pat each half into a 6 inch round circle on baking sheet coated with cooking spray. Cut each circle into 6 wedges but don’t separate. Baste top of each circle of dough with melted butter and sprinkle with cinnamon sugar. Bake for 15 minutes or until lightly browned. Yields 1 dozen.

A few notes...

The original recipe calls for 2/3 c wheat flour, which is supposed to add a nutty flavor and make the scone more coarse in texture, but unfortunately I was out.  I decided to substitute with an all-purpose white flour. They were still tasty but perhaps not as wholesome.

The type of currant I used were craisins, but to be honest they weren’t that good. They were a bit flat and really didn’t add much flavor.  Next time, I’d try using dried apricots or cherries.  It’d also be fun to experiment by adding a dash of almond or orange extract to the mix.

The original recipe instructs to spray the top of each circle of dough with cooking spray before sprinkling with cinnamon sugar, but I chose to use melted butter instead. It added a little somethin’ somethin’, but should note that it won’t keep the recipe as low-fat.

I hope you do try this recipe and experiment in any ways you like, for you never know what good you might produce!  Enjoy!

**If you’re interested in attending a Making Space Retreat in the future, please email me at abidendavine@gmail.com and I’ll add you to the mailing list. Our next retreat will be scheduled for one Saturday, mid to late October 2010.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “sour cream scones

  1. These look delicious – shouldn’t be reading this at lunchtime!

  2. delightful! and i love that the gal above is from Dublin..they probably have amazing scones!

Leave a Reply

