lemon poppy seed scones

Have you ever gotten out of bed in the morning just knowing that you’d like to make something delicious to enjoy for breakfast?

Well, that was me this morning.

I had nowhere to rush off to because I had the day off, thanks to Martin Luther King Jr., so I thought it’d be fun to be creative and whip something up.

I looked around my kitchen.

DSCF2753

I saw two ripe lemons (that came straight from the tree!) sitting in the fruit basket, I knew I had a jar of poppy seeds in the spice drawer and scones kept coming to mind.

I grabbed the computer and did a search on the internet for lemon poppy seed scones.  I found a nice, easy looking recipe from Country Living that I thought was worth the try.

DSCF2760

Within about 30 minutes, 15 minutes for preparation and 15 minutes for baking and cooling (I rushed the process and didn’t let them cool the full 20 minutes), my husband and I were enjoying warm, flavorful scones with a hot cup of coffee.

It was a real treat!

Lemon Poppy Seed Scones
(Recipe adapted from Country Living)

Makes 4 scones

1 c flour
1 1/2 T sugar
1 T poppy seeds
1 large lemon, zested
1/2 T baking powder
1/4 t baking soda
1/4 c cold salted butter, cut into small pieces
1/4 2% milk
1/8 c lemon juice
1/2 T lemon juice
1/4 c powdered sugar

In large bowl, combine flour, sugar, poppy seeds, lemon zest, baking powder and baking soda.  Using a knife and a fork, cut in butter until mixture resembles a coarse meal.  Pour in milk and 1/8 c lemon juice.  Mix just until dough is formed.

Gather dough into a ball and place on baking sheet lined with parchment.  Shape into 6-inch disc.  Cut disk into 4 pieces and space each piece about an inch apart. Bake at 400 for 10-12 minutes.  Let cool 20 minutes.

Whisk remaining lemon juice and powdered sugar together.  Pour over scones and serve.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “lemon poppy seed scones

  1. Pingback: orange cranberry scones | soul food

Leave a Reply

