hello dolly bars

Hello Dolly Bars.

The name alone is pleasing, not to mention what’s in them.

What made me want to try these bars?   It was two things really, and I’m afraid my reasons for making them are in quite the contradiction.

Reason Number One:
I was hired for my first cooking gig! The venue is a silent retreat.  My job is to prepare a simple, good, prayer-filled lunch for the retreat participants, which must include dessert!

I’d been pondering what to make. I decided it’d be helpful to do a search on the internet.  I came across a delightful looking recipe for Hello Dolly bars at the Homesick Texan and I knew I’d found what I was looking for.

I figured I’d better get cracking and make me some of these bars because the retreat’s only a week away.  It was good to give them a trial run because as we all know, practice makes better, and that’s what I’m hoping for this retreat.

Reason Number Two:
I remember my mom baking Hello Dolly bars for dessert when we’d have company over.  They were super rich and super delicious.  I always wanted a corner piece and I’d always try to sneak bites of the edges because these places were where it got the most crispy and that’s what I loved–the butter and graham crackers coming together to create the deliciously crispy crust and let’s not forget the sweetened condensed milk that’d carmalize into goodness, chocolate chips that got all melty and toasted coconut flakes that provided a little extra somethin’, somethin’. Sadly though, I don’t think my mom’s version used any nuts.

For me, Hello Dolly bars were a special occasion type of thing, so this time I wanted to make them simply because I wanted to make them.  Who says a good thing is only allowed to be enjoyed when you have a really good reason for enjoy ing it?

There you have it, my two reasons, because I’ve got a special occasion that I need to make them for and I wanted to make them for no special reason at all. Ha ha!

I should note that the thing I like most about the recipe is that it calls for the use of cinnamon graham crackers instead of regular graham crackers. I myself have always preferred cinnamon grahams to regular, so when I saw this in this recipe, I was super excited. It added a nice flavor to every bite!

Hello Dolly Bars
This recipe is my  variation.  If you want the real deal, please visit the link above.

1 1/2 c crushed cinnamon graham crackers (about 8 graham crackers)
1 1/4 c chocolate chips
1 c coconut, shredded
3/4 c pecan pieces
12 oz sweetened condensed milk
1/2 c butter

Pre heat the oven to 350. Melt the butter in a saucepan. Pour melted butter into a 8×8 or 11×7 pan. Sprinkle graham cracker crumbs into the pan and mix with the melted butter to form a crust. Layer on top of the crust, the chocolate chips, coconut and pecans. Evenly pour the sweetened condensed milk over everything. Bake for 25-30 minutes or until the top is golden brown. Let cool for 30 minutes and serve.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “hello dolly bars

  1. Kyle & Lisa

    Love this post, oh man this looks yummy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

