pork tenderloin with sun-dried cherry sauce

On Saturday night, after many months off, K, E and I gathered together again to share yet another delicious home-cooked meal that we all contributed to.

I volunteered to make the main dish, a stuffed pork tenderloin with sun-dried cherry sauce.

I can remember my mom preparing stuffed pork tenderloin on several occasions for our family dinner.  The recipe she used was super simple, yet super delicious.

It called for a pork tenderloin, stuffing (made from a box), and a can of cream of chicken soup.   She cut a slit in the pork, filled it with stuffing, closed it up, poured a can of soup over the top and popped it in the oven to bake.

The pork was always moist and tender and the combination of ingredients always made this dish so flavorful.

I’ve used my mom’s pork tenderloin recipe in the past, but this time I wanted to try something different.  I wanted to go out on a limb, challenge myself and make something new.  I didn’t regret it one bit.

The recipe I used and the tenderloin it created were incredible!  I’d definitely make this recipe again.

Stuffed Pork Tenderloin with Sun-Dried Cherry Sauce

Recipe adapted from an article at Cleveland.Com

Pork Tenderloin with Stuffing

3 1/2 lb pork tenderloin
1 box of herbed stuffing, prepared
salt and pepper

Use a sharpening steel or the handle of a wooden spoon, covered in plastic wrap, to make a hole in the center of pork for stuffing. Carefully force steal or handle in one end of pork and force it out other side. Stuff  pork generously with prepared, cooled stuffing from both ends to make sure it gets to the middle. Season pork with salt and pepper.  (Bake remaining stuffing in small pan for 20 minutes and serve on side).

Heat cast iron skillet over medium-high and brown pork on all sides. Place skillet and pork in the oven at 400 for 15 minutes or until pork reaches an internal temperature of 175 or 180.  When pork is done, take out of oven and skillet and let rest.

Sun-Dried Cherry Sauce

3 c dried cherries
1/4 c sliced shallots
2 1/2 c red wine
4 T butter

While pork is cooking, place cherries, shallots and 1 1/2 c of red wine in saucepan and cook over medium-low for 20 minutes. Let cool.

While pork is resting, place cast iron skillet over medium-high heat, add remaining red wine and cherry sauce. When sauce starts to boil, reduce heat, add butter and stir constantly.


Pour sauce over top of pork, slice and serve.

I should note that I’d never poked a hole all the way through the middle of a pork tenderloin (as the recipe calls for) and I wasn’t sure I had the right tools, so I opted to cut the tenderloin in half lengthwise, (but not all the way through) stuff it and ‘sew it up’ with bamboo skewers.


It did the job just fine!

E made a side of roasted green beans with fresh garlic cloves, and we devoured a loaf of  hot fresh french bread with butter.

K brought a layered Mississippi mud cake for dessert. The layers included, from bottom to top, an Oreo cookie crust, flour-less chocolate cake, chocolate pudding and fresh whipped cream. It was super rich but really good.

We were all pleasantly filled by the end of the night — by the exceptional food and the marvelous company!

Thanks ladies for a wonderful evening.  I adore you, our nights and your mad skills!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment