early summer pie

I made a strawberry pie today.  I had to.  I couldn’t resist.


I blame it on Tuesday night.

I stopped by my friend Bronwens.  It was supposed to be a quick stop, but Bronwen invited me to stay for dinner so I gladly accepted.

At the end of the meal, she surprised me with a slice of her fresh, homemade strawberry pie. It truly delighted my soul.

I’d noticed the pie when I first walked in. It was sitting on the kitchen counter. Bronwen had just finished making it and it needed to cool.  It looked absolutely lovely.  I secretly hoped that I’d get to enjoy a slice at some point in the night.

So when the offer came, I was giddy. Bronwen had made this pie just because and she wanted to generously share it with me. Too good to be true!  (I guess this shouldn’t have come as such a shock, for this is the type of person Bronwen is — very creative, generous and spontaneous).

I should mention that I’m not a fan of strawberry pie, at all.  In fact it would be the last pie I’d ever choose to order at a restaurant.  I never did like the look of it or it’s gelatin like consistency. This pie however, was amazing and oh, so different!

The crust was delicate and full of flavor.  It melted in my mouth.  The filling had a simple consistency.  It was smooth, had a bold flavor and the fresh strawberries allowed for natural sweetness.

I had one small piece, and it was so tasty, that I had to go back for more. Honestly, I could have devoured the whole thing in one sitting.

Now here it is, only two days later, and I’ve made myself a pie.  It was that good! If you’re in the mood for something summery sweet, then I would encourage you to try this recipe.  You won’t be disappointed!

Early Summer Pie

Crust:
In a 9″ pie plate combine and mix
1 1/2 c flour
2 T sugar
1 t salt

In a separate bowl mix
1/2 c canola oil
2 T milk

Pour liquid over flour mixture in the pie plate. Mix with fork. Pat out and shape in pie plate. Prick with a fork. Bake at 400 for 10-12 minutes or until golden brown.


Filling:
2 c crushed strawberries
1 c sugar
2 T cornstarch
1/8 t salt

Mix ingredients in a pot. Bring to a boil and boil for 5 minutes. Let cool.


Layer the bottom of the pie shell with a pint of sliced strawberries.

Pour the cooked filling over the top. Serve with vanilla ice cream.

Thanks Bronwen for the delicious treat, a great recipe and for just being you!

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “early summer pie

  1. Rebecca

    Looks wonderful. I just sent my daughter down the road to buy some fresh berries…..pie and a comforted soul , here we come!

  2. yummers ~(o; wish i could have sat with you and bronwen and lingered over summer strawberry pie. come to the central coast we are the strawberry capital of the world!

  3. Rebecca

    It is wonderful…made 5 already and husband requested one for his birthday tomorrow!

  4. Kaitlin

    That’s really all that’s to it – just the fresh strawberries and the filling?? No cream or anything? I don’t know, I’ll have to try it to believe it!! THough I highly douby i would settle for only one slice either 😉 I’m sure the hot pie and cold ice cream are divine!

  5. go bec…hope bri enjoyed it! i love it!

  6. RWS

    My Mother and Sister were both winners in a State Fair Pie baking . This pie was without a doubt the best crust I can remember !!!
    Thanks for sharing this recipe with us !!

    • Daddy
      I just re-read this comment – thanks for sharing and thanks for your encouragement….I learned from the best and am grateful for my heritage with food from you and the fam! xo

Leave a Reply

