broccoli cheddar soup in bread bowls

Part of my New Year’s desire (notice I didn’t say resolution) was to find various recipes on Pinterest, that were both new to me and looked delicious, and try them out.

The 14th of February was the first time I tried this one, which means it only took me forty-four days to make it happen!  Since it was Valentine’s Day, I thought it would be fun to make Kyle and I a nice dinner.

One of Kyle’s favorites is soup in a bread bowl.  I felt this recipe would be perfect, and it was.  It was so fun (and it felt so professional) to serve the homemade soup in a bread bowl.

The recipe is simple, only a few steps really, but does create a tasty soup that was both velvety and delicious.

I purchased several of the recipe’s ingredients at Trader Joe’s.  I highly recommend you do the same.  It made the preparation work a whole lot easier.  I purchased a bag of pre-cut onions, a bag of pre-washed and pre-cut broccoli, a bag of shredded carrots, a bag of shredded cheddar and jack cheese, a carton of chicken stock and already baked bread bowls.

The bread bowls should be located in the bread section of the store. I had to look a little in order to find them.  They’re sold individually and they come in two flavors, sourdough and wheat.  I chose the sourdough.  I thought it would pair nicely with the soup.  It made Kyle happy.

I should mention that just before serving, I popped the bread bowls into the oven.  I wanted to heat them up  just a touch on the inside and crisp them up on the outside.  It worked quite nicely!

The full recipe even gave us great leftovers.

I would definitely make this one again, and I know Kyle would love it if I did.  Hope you get to enjoy it too!

Broccoli Cheddar Soup

Recipe adapted from Mangio Da Sola

1/4 c butter
1/2 onion, chopped
1 clove garlic, minced
1/4 c flour
1/2 c half-and-half
1/2 c heavy cream
1 c milk
2 c chicken stock
1/2 lb fresh broccoli, chopped
1 c carrot, shredded and chopped
1/4 t nutmeg
10 oz cheddar and jack cheese, grated
Salt and pepper to taste

Sauté onion and garlic in butter over medium heat, until onions real tender (about 10 minutes or more).  Add flour, stirring constantly. Add half and half, heavy cream, milk, and chicken stock. Bring to almost a boil.

Add broccoli and carrots. Simmer on low heat for about 20 minutes.

Season soup with salt, pepper and nutmeg. Stir in cheese (and you can play around with the amounts; use however much or little you like) and let simmer for 10 minutes longer before serving.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

