chocolate peanut butter cupcakes

I’m not sure if you’ve noticed, but I’m seeing a pattern.

Last week, my blog involved both chocolate and peanut butter and this week it does too.

I can’t help it.  I just love the two together.

I enjoy graham crackers topped with peanut butter and chocolate chips, homemade brownies smeared with peanut butter, Haggen Dazs chocolate peanut butter ice cream and peanut butter cup perfection from Coldstone.  It’s all so delicious.

I didn’t intentionally plan to blog this way, it’s just the way it happened (and don’t worry, if you’re not a chocolate-peanut butter lover, it most likely won’t continue this way).

It was my roommate Tiffany’s birthday last week and she was hosting a small gathering at our house, so I volunteered to make dessert for her and her guests to enjoy.

She wanted chocolate peanut butter cupcakes.  Perfect, I thought.  I couldn’t wait to create this special treat!

For the cupcakes, I used the Hershey’s cocoa recipe.  It’s on the back of the Hershey’s cocoa powder container.  It seriously makes the BEST chocolate cake. It’s super easy, moist and really flavorful.

Hershey’s “Perfectly Chocolate” Chocolate Cake

2 c sugar
1 3/4 c all-purpose flour
3/4 c Hershey’s cocoa powder
1 1/2 t baking powder
1 1/2 t baking soda
1 t salt
2 eggs
1 c milk
1/2 c vegetable oil
2 t vanilla
1 c boiling water (the secret ingredient)

In a large bowl, combine dry ingredients. Add eggs, milk, oil and vanilla and beat, on medium speed, for 2 minutes. Stir in boiling water (batter will be thin).

Peanut Butter Frosting

Recipe adapted from allrecipies.com

1/2 c butter
1 c creamy peanut butter
4 c powdered sugar
1/3 c heavy cream

In a large bowl, beat butter and peanut butter until fluffy. Slowly beat in 1/2 the powdered sugar and all heavy cream. Beat in rest of powered sugar until mixed.

Tiffany made it VERY clear that she wanted the cupcakes to be super moist.  She’s not a fan of dry cake and she knew she’d only enjoy them if they were moist.

I wanted to give her what she wanted, the level of moistness she desired, so I decided to add another dimension to the mix in order to help aid the process.

I added a dark chocolate Lindt truffle to the center of each cupcake.

As the cupcakes baked, the dark chocolate truffles melted into the cake.  It made each cupcake incredibly moist and rich.

Before you get too excited and begin to think that I’m just genius, I have to confess that the truffles weren’t my idea.  Elizabeth gave me the idea. She’d made cupcakes this way before, had remembered how amazing they were and she wanted to help me out.  Thanks Elizabeth!

Truffle Infusion

Line each spot in a cupcake tin with two cupcake liners. After making the cake batter, pour about 2/3 cup into each spot. Place an unwrapped truffle in each spot and press slightly into the batter  until the truffle is covered with just a thin layer of batter.

Bake at 350 for 20 minutes, cool and frost.  Makes about 24-30 cupcakes.

I woke up the next morning hoping to find some leftover cupcakes, but they were all gone.  I guess they were a real hit.

It’s been a week and I’m still craving them.  I may just have to make another batch this week.  I hope you too get the chance to create and indulge in some of these goodies yourself!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “chocolate peanut butter cupcakes

  1. cathy

    love this! i can’t wait to try it 🙂

Leave a Reply

