chocolate peanut butter pretzel tart

A chocolate peanut butter pretzel tart, need I say more?

This dessert features two of my most favorite ingredients when it comes to any dessert, chocolate and peanut butter, and it doesn’t end there. This tart is taken to a whole new level by adding a salty twist, a crushed pretzel crust.  It’s simply delicious.

I found the recipe one day when I was browsing the internet looking for ideas for table centerpieces for my wedding.  I was led to the blog, Sprouted Kitchen, to a post about the author’s wedding (I loved her pictures and the table decorations they chose — they’ve inspired me, as well as the blog — check it out!).

As you may have guessed, I liked what I saw so I took a look around.  This blog led me to another blog entitled, Pictures and Pancakes, which is where I found the recipe I’ve blogged about today.

I instantly knew it was a must try and that I just needed something to try it for.

I remembered I had a friend’s baby shower coming up that I’d volunteered to make a dessert for.  I figured it’d be the perfect occasion.  I had a feeling the guests would  go crazy over this one.  I was right.  Everyone loved it.

I should warn you though, it’s super rich, so beware.  You’ll need to enjoy a big glass of milk with this treat.

Chocolate Pretzel Tart

Recipe taken from Pictures and Pancakes

1 stick unsalted butter, softened
1 1/4 c coarsely crushed pretzels
3/4 c confectioner’s sugar
1/2 c whole wheat pastry flour
1 egg
1/4 c creamy peanut butter
1 1/2 c heavy cream
3/4 lb bittersweet chocolate, chopped
2 T maldon sea salt for garnishIn bowl of an electric mixer fitted with paddle attachment, beat butter with 3/4 cup pretzels and confectioner’s sugar on low-speed until creamy. Beat in flour and eggs. Add remaining 1/2 cup pretzels and mix, leaving some pieces intact. Flatten dough between two sheets of plastic wrap and refrigerate until chilled, at least 30 minutes.

Heat oven to 350. Roll out dough between sheets of plastic wrap to a 12-inch round. Peel off the top sheet and invert dough over 10-inch fluted tart pan with removable bottom. Press dough into corners and patch any tears. Trim overhanging dough and refrigerate for 30 minutes. Line shell with parchment and pie weights or dried beans and bake 30 minutes. Remove parchment and bake 8-12 minutes more or until firm. Let shell cool completely. Using small offset spatula, spread peanut butter into thin even layer and refrigerate while making chocolate filling.

In saucepan, bring cream to a simmer. Turn off heat and add chocolate, let stand 5 minutes. Whisk until completely smooth. Let filling cool slightly before pouring into shell and smoothing with spatula. Sprinkle with sea salt and refrigerate until set, at least 4 hours.

Since I’m a big fan of peanut butter, I recommend using more than a 1/4 cup, try a 1/2 cup instead.  This will help enhance the ratio of chocolate to peanut butter.

If you don’t have a fluted tart pan, don’t let that stop you.  I don’t own one, so I used a regular pie dish, and it worked just fine.

Enjoy!

Comments Off on chocolate peanut butter pretzel tart

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.