roasted portabella mushrooms

Roasted portabella mushrooms.

A culinary accomplishment in my book.

I’ve always had sort of a thing for portabella mushrooms.  They’re just so huge, they look so hearty and they taste delicious.

The first time I ever tried one was on a roasted vegetable sandwich, in which they used a portabella mushroom as the main filler.  It really was the star of the show, so meaty and full of  flavor.

After delighting in that creation, I knew I had to try roasting my own portabella mushrooms.

The thought intimidated me.

Why?

I’d be engaging a sophisticated technique (the roasting) on a sophisticated ingredient (the portabellas).

Questions and thoughts filled my mind, one after another.  Portabellas are too superior for you.  Isn’t roasting beyond your skill level?  Will you be able to pull it off?  What if you try and they don’t turn out or taste like they ought?

I could see how I was really afraid to try what I deemed above me and fail.

What you need to remember is that I’m a gal who’s surrounded by friends that posses and utilize sophisticated culinary skills, and whose cupboards and refrigerators are filled with many sophisticated ingredients.

I’d just witnessed my friend Kim put the art of roasting into action, as she roasted several pans of assorted vegetables (including portabellas) for her very own anniversary celebration dinner. They turned out just incredible.  Everyone raved.  She’s so talented in the kitchen.

Rather than her feat being an encouragement and inspiring to me, it was being used to open a little door for fear (as I shared in a previous post, comparison robs and steals.  It truly isn’t good).   What if I tried, just as she had, but didn’t succeed?

Deep down inside I knew I didn’t want to let that question, fear or comparison stop me.  I’m amazing in the kitchen too and I do like trying new stuff even if it’s a flop, after all that’s how one learns.

I’d invited a friend over for a special birthday celebration dinner.  I needed to do some shopping.  While perusing the aisles of Trader Joe’s, I came across a package of large portabella mushroom caps.  There they sat, just calling my name (well not literally).  I knew they’d be a delight to her so I decided to be brave, pull up my big girl panties, take a risk and purchase them for roasting.

Boy, was I glad I did.  It was super easy and they were TRULY d-e-l-i-c-i-o-u-s. They were plump and juicy and the flavor of the seasonings married wonderfully.  We couldn’t get enough!

I hope you get the chance to enjoy roasting some of your own caps!

Roasted Portabella Mushrooms

2 large portabella mushroom caps, washed and dried
1 T olive oil
1 t fresh garlic, minced
1 t fresh rosemary, chopped
1/2 T balsamic vinegar
salt
pepper

Remove stem from caps. Place each portabella mushroom gill side up on cookie sheet lined with parchment paper. Pour olive oil over each, garlic, rosemary and balsamic. Season with salt and pepper to taste. Roast at 400 for 20 minutes (or longer if needed).

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

