a dream accomplished, again

It’s another dream accomplished.

Last week, I made a deliciously simple lunch for those attending a local photography workshop.

It’s another answered prayer.

I don’t know if you remember, but back in July I blogged about my first dream accomplished — being hired to prepare the food for a local silent retreat. It was a direct answer to prayer  because I’d been asking the Lord to provide three paid cooking gigs, that was the first and now this is the second. It may have taken some time, but He’s faithful!

How did I get the gig?

My roommate Kat, a Mike Colon Photographer, works for an incredible, renown photographer in Newport Beach.  She knew they needed someone to prepare lunch for their one-day workshop so she came to me.  We discussed menu options and cost, she conferred with her boss and it was a go!

The menu for lunch included:

peppered turkey, havarti & avocado sandwiches on fresh french rolls


broccoli slaw with craisins, walnuts & a light vinaigrette dressing

a basket of fresh black plums & crisp gala apples

I had to be on location at around noon to set up. After, I was able to stay for a bit.  I was introduced to the crowd and I was able to meet Kat’s boss, Mike.  It also gave me the chance to watch those around me enjoy the food I created.  It was super special.

Everyone’s favorite part of the meal was the slaw.  They raved about it.  In fact, many of the attendees emailed Kat the very next day to ask for the recipe.  I figured since it was that big of a hit, I ought to pass it on to you.

Broccoli Slaw

1 package of Trader Joe’s Organic Broccoli Slaw
1 medium Granny Smith apple, peeled and chopped
1/4 c craisins
1/4 c walnuts, chopped
1/4 c vegetable oil
1/4 c apple cider vinegar
1/4 c, minus 2 t granulated sugar
3/4 t celery seed
salt and pepper, to taste

Mix the first five ingredients in a bowl.  Whisk together the oil, vinegar, sugar and celery seed, season with a touch of salt and pepper to taste and pour over slaw. Serve immediately or let sit overnight.

I’m again, grateful to the Lord.  He is good, real good.  The waiting is hard and it can be long but His timing is always perfect.  I do hope I have the opportunity to prepare food for many more small gatherings and retreats.  I do trust the Lord will bring the next one as He sees fit.  Thanks for sharing in the journey with me!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

