the vulnerability of creating

I’ll say it again.

If you’re looking for a good read, and if you’re needing some new recipes to add to your cooking arsenal, I recommend the book Bread and Wine by Shauna Niequist.  It’s real, heartfelt and almost every chapter closes itself with a recipe to try.

I’ve enjoyed creating many recipes from the book this summer, whether it was for my book club, my husband and I, a family birthday celebration, a small group of friends or just because.

I made green salad tossed with basic vinaigrette, goat cheese biscuits baked in a cast iron pan, risotto, maple balsamic pork tenderloin, peach crisp with an almond flour topping, dark chocolate sea salted toffee, and cookies that included rolled oats, toasted coconut and pecans, craisins, dark chocolate and lots of vanilla.

Each time felt like such an adventure, as I stepped out on a limb to create something that I never had before. And always at the end, came a deep satisfaction with my accomplishment. I was giddy, really, and very proud of myself for risking.

Now for some of you this may sound pretty deep or perhaps a little corny. You may even be thinking, “Come on, why the big deal, I mean it’s just food for goodness sake.” Here’s where I want to say that, oh no, it’s really so much more than that.

See there’s a vulnerability that comes with anything you create because there’s hope, and you’ve put something of yourself into that creation.

I hope it’ll turn out.  I hope people will rave about it and want to eat every last bite of it.  I hope it’ll be something I want to make over and over and over again. I hope the risk I take will be worth it (partly because of the amount I spent on groceries).

Pieces of my heart and soul get poured into whatever I create, so that when I share it with others, what I’m really sharing is a part of me. As a dear friend of mine recently said, “It may seem like just a bite but it means so much more, you’re offering that symbol of you.”

I hope you feel both inspired and encouraged to embrace the vulnerability and to risk creating something yourself that you can offer others. In doing so, I just know you’ll be blessed and you’ll be a blessing to those around you.

Ps…I’ve included some more photos from the book club and one of our fabulous meals together!

**The pictures are as follows: the table set, strawberry thyme lemonade, peppercorn crusted pan-seared ny strip steak, green well salad, blueberry & peach crisp with vanilla ice cream.

DSCF3098

DSCF3100

DSCF3103

DSCF3105

DSCF3110

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “the vulnerability of creating

  1. Susie

    Love this lindsay lou!

Leave a Reply

