watermelon, arugula, feta & balsamic salad

DSCF2788

I used to hate arugula.

It looked like a weed.

It tasted like a weed.

It was too peppery for me.

And any salad that contained even just one piece of this leafy green, I had a strong aversion to.

All of this changed however, when I decided to take a risk and try the salad my fabulous friend Emily brought to one of our Artist Way gatherings.

She brought a big salad bowl filled with organic arugula, chunks of fresh watermelon, crumbled feta cheese, that was all tossed with a balsamic reduction.

DSCF2786

The flavor combinations in this salad are out of this world!  It’s both salty and sweet, it’s incredibly fresh and so so easy to make!

I wouldn’t say I’m now a lover of arugula but I’m sure more open to it.

I do hope you get to try this recipe too, as I know you’ll be very blessed.

I served this salad with marinated, grilled flank steak and fork oven potatoes. Enjoy!

Watermelon, Arugula, Feta and Balsamic Salad

1 bag of organic arugula
1/4 watermelon, de-seeded and cut into chunks
2-3 T feta cheese, crumbled
1/4 c balsalmic vinegar

Place arugula, watermelon and feta in a large salad bowl.

Place vinegar in a small saucepan and cook, on medium heat, for 7-10 minutes in order to thicken and reduce. Remove from heat, let cool slightly and pour desired amount over salad.  Toss to coat.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “watermelon, arugula, feta & balsamic salad

  1. Lilly Lawrence

    It looks delish . I will try it as is and with some tender greens and good blue cheese . Love , love , love, the balsamic reduction .
    You’re so , so talented !
    Love you !
    Lilly

  2. Kaitlin

    Linds, so funny b/c i had just bought a bag of arugula the day you wrote this and i too hated it before! Now I really like the extra spicy kind that friends bring to church from their gardens. But i have never made this salad! I usually do watermelon, mint and feta, little sweet onion and lime. I think we just talked about this didn’t we? Yum!

Leave a Reply

